Pass On The Love Album Release and Part 8 of Road Trip!

Hi Everyone!!

I am very proud to announce that my new album, Pass On The Love, is now formally released. It is available in CD format at my web site – click on the CD’s/Quilts 4 Sale page;

http://www.Billmadisonmusic.com

and also available in download format at:

http://billmadison.aurovine.com/album/pass-on-the-love

I would also like to share a song from my All She Wanted album that I never posted alone before. It is my version of Jackson Browne’s very beautiful love song called “Sky Blue and Black”:

https://soundcloud.com/bill-madison/sky-blue-and-black

Hope you’ll want to get a copy of Pass On The Love!

Thanks so much!!

Have a great Easter weekend. Bill

And now, Part 8 of the “nostalgic” Road Trip!!

Sometimes if no one was playing, we would play albums on the record player which was in the back room. We listened to Bob Dylan, Patrick Sky, Ian and Sylvia, Eric Andersen; Dan’s blues collection – Robert Johnson, Blind Willie McTell, Muddy Waters and Spider John Koerner – all the while discussing all that mattered. Sometimes, Jan, our poet in residence would recite his vivid world and vivid it was. His love of women was most pronounced and he managed to describe their femininity in great detail. He would do this from the stage sometimes backed up by Dan playing graceful blues licks and soft harmonica playing.

Jan was particularly excited about the fact that soon many young rich girls from wealthy Jewish families in New York would be arriving on campus for summer school. Most of them would be taking art classes, poetry classes and, of course, wanting to blend in with the “artsy” crowd. Much material for Jan to write about, that’s for sure. So Jan would hang out at the Student Union awaiting the parade of new arrivals. And arrive they did. Jan showed up  at the Café early one Friday night and excitedly told us that the place would be busy tonight!  I went up to every girl I saw and invited them! I told them this was the place to be!” Shaking my head, I continued wiping down the tables and dumping the cigarette butts out of the candle holders. There were ash trays, but most preferred to use the candle holders; you know, those globe shaped containers with the plastic mesh on the outside. Sam said, “We’ll need more coffee…” so off he went to the Student Union to get some bags – he knew this girl who worked there.

 

Evening came and indeed the place filled up quickly. There was a loud din of girls chatting and laughing and re-aquainting themselves with one another. A few had guitar cases with them as well. Those ladies would have plenty of questions for all us performing for sure. I would be playing, of course, and Dan, and there was this new guy Ted who said he did a version of that new song by Donovan called “Catch The Wind”  and who knew what the ladies had in store for us. The room got real smoky – fast. We had the back door open along with the front door to keep the smoke moving out. Everyone smoked back then it seemed.

 

About Bill Madison

Bill Madison – Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist My musical career spans more than 40 years; from the Folk Music venues of Boston, New York City and Montreal during the 1960’s, to the ski resorts and honky tonks of Northern New England from the 1970’s to the 1990’s. In 1973, I released my first album called “Sunday Mornin’ Hayride”. That album has been re-released by Riverman Records and Yoga Records and was voted in the top ten retro re-issues for 2009 by the Acid Archives. In 1974, I formed Them Fargo Brothers which became New England’s Premier Country Rock Band, and I toured with the band until 1990. I am currently writing and recording in my studio and marketing my CD’s through my web site and have downloads available across the web. I am also seeking to license my music to films, etc. And I am a Featured Artist on IMRadio.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

