Springing Into Summer! Road Trip Part 9!!

Well Wow!! It’s just like summer here in Southwest Florida – 90 degrees and humid! And our landscape business is getting busy. We go on full schedule May 1st – that means mowing all our clients every week instead of every other week. We’ll be soaking wet until November 1st. This past week we installed 4 pallets of sod (600pcs.) and 3 pallets of mulch (210 bags) and several new plants for our major account! Whew!

I’m happy to say my new album,” Pass On The Love”,  is being well received. One of my fans wrote the following:

“The new CD received and played.  Well done and worth the wait.  A very nice job on a very eclectic mix of songs.  I don’t believe I’ve ever heard anyone cover “Looking Glass” before.  I remember it well from Eric Anderson’s first album.  I really like the title song; your songwriting is as strong as ever.  Keep it up.  I look forward to your next one!”

You can get a copy of the album in CD format at my web site: http://www.Billmadisonmusic.com

And the digital download version is at my Aurovine site:

http://billmadison.aurovine.com/album/pass-on-the-love

Also, I’ve just finished and posted a new video of my band Them Fargo Brothers. When we got together in November 2011, we had a video made of our performance on 11/11/11 and at the same time, we had an audio recording made. I have edited both and “married’ the audio tracks to the video. I’ll be posting more of these as we go. This particular video is of a song called “Desperate Wind” written by my friend Scott Roby – truly a great song – and features my son Ryan Madison playing the drums. Here’s the link:

http://youtu.be/eaogjP-LCT4

And Now!!! Here’s your latest episode of “Road Trip”!!!

And nobody said anything about the “noble weed” either. I was always the MC, so to speak, but tonight Jan relieved me of my duty to do the honors. Of course, he started out with a few of his well chosen stanzas – holding and smoking his pipe – a scarf loosely hanging around his neck and shoulders and his ever present amber colored wire rim glasses – and yes, a beret. He wore his worn corduroy sport coat, blue jeans and sandals. A striking character, indeed. After some cheers and jeers and about 20 minutes, he announced Dan, who came on stage dressed like a blues singer – a ragged cap, also a worn sport coat, the pockets of which were full of harmonicas, the ever present harmonica rack, and his J200 Gibson guitar. His heavy boots started to tap out rhythm, already a harmonica sounding like a train whistle, and his guitar thundered through the room. You couldn’t sit still – you couldn’t keep your feet from tapping loudly along with him. And when he started singing, he sounded like a wailing from the Mississippi Delta – you could really feel the Blues.

                      “Goin’ ta Death Valley, Mama

                        Ain’t nothin’ but tombstone

                        And dry bone….”

Dan played for over an hour and left the stage amid tumultuous applause and cheering – he was yelling out “I love you, I love you, I love you! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! I’ll be back later!” Jan stepped on stage clapping after Dan and simply said “Whew” into the microphone. He then read a short poem he wrote about Dan which was received with much applause. He announced a short break, as Sam and a few ladies he recruited went around serving more coffee. I so remember that smoky reddish glow and the now soft din of conversation filling the room. I was talking to Ted finding out that he was from New Jersey and was on campus taking on a few extra Chemistry courses, and making up an English Lit course. He wasn’t dressed like the rest of us. He wore neatly pressed chinos, a nice blue shirt, penny loafers and he had rather short dark hair. I thought he was a real nice guy. He knew a lot about folk music and you could tell he really loved it. He showed me his fairly new Gibson J45. Under the guitar in the case were a whole lot of song lyrics and poems he had written.

 

After a bit, Jan got on stage to announce Ted. “Let’s welcome Ted to the stage to play us some of his songs!” Jan said somewhat apprehensively . You could tell Ted was pretty nervous. Funny when a performer is nervous, the audience gets nervous, too. But, Ted opened with “Catch The Wind” and he sounded just like Donovan! To the note! His guitar playing was great! His voice was great! And the crowd awarded him with much appreciation and applause. He also did a great version of Gordon Lightfoot’s “Early Mornin’ Rain”. He went on to play several interesting songs that he had written; an anti war piece, a pretty funny talking blues, a nice love song and he ended with Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice”. The crowd supported him the entire set, and he left the stage amid much applause. Jan announced another break after reciting a poem he had written while Ted was playing. Ted felt much more at ease – telling me how great the Café is.

 

 

About Bill Madison

Bill Madison – Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist My musical career spans more than 40 years; from the Folk Music venues of Boston, New York City and Montreal during the 1960’s, to the ski resorts and honky tonks of Northern New England from the 1970’s to the 1990’s. In 1973, I released my first album called “Sunday Mornin’ Hayride”. That album has been re-released by Riverman Records and Yoga Records and was voted in the top ten retro re-issues for 2009 by the Acid Archives. In 1974, I formed Them Fargo Brothers which became New England’s Premier Country Rock Band, and I toured with the band until 1990. I am currently writing and recording in my studio and marketing my CD’s through my web site and have downloads available across the web. I am also seeking to license my music to films, etc. And I am a Featured Artist on IMRadio.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Springing Into Summer! Road Trip Part 9!!

  1. Jeff Hayford says:

    Well done Bill! I’m doing a lot of freelance writing for music industry blogs and will add your link to one that’s all about Indie’s! Leaving the link to my music/humanitarian blog in case ;you didn’t see the link. Keep on creating! – Jeff

Leave a Reply

