New Music Review and Part 10 of “Road Trip”!

Over the past few weeks we have been involved and an extensive landscape project – which is why you haven’t heard from me. We put all new landscaping in around the medical office building adjacent to the hospital where we work. We finished the project over this past weekend. Whew!!

Deborah Cox of Basic Principal just completed a wonderful review of my music which she posted on her “Official Feature” on-line magazine! I can’t tell you how honored I  feel by her doing this review! Here is the link:

 

http://officialfeature.net/put-it-out-there-country-and-folk-music-artist-bill-madison/

If you haven’t heard any of the tracks from my new album – “Pass On The Love”,  you can hear them at my Aurovine site:

 

http://billmadison.aurovine.com/album/pass-on-the-love

A fan of mine wrote back with these comments on the album:

 

“The new CD received and played.  Well done and worth the wait.  A very nice job on a very eclectic mix of songs.  I don’t believe I’ve ever heard anyone cover “Looking Glass” before.  I remember it well from Eric Anderson’s first album.  I really like the title song; your songwriting is as strong as ever.  Keep it up.  I look forward to your next one!”

I consider this album to be my best work to date, Hope you will want to get a CD of the album at my web site or get the  download at Aurovine!

I thank you all so much for your continued support!  Bill

And Now – Part 10 of Road Trip!

 

Everyone turned and watched as she came through the front door and into the room – guitar case in hand. She kinda glowed as she moved through the smoky haze. She had long dark hair braided with rawhide. She wore a long dress made from an Indian bedspread – yellowish with hand painted red designs – Indian thong sandals and her right arm had many turquoise and silver bracelets. A reddish shawl covered her shoulders. She walked directly up to Jan, who greeted her with pipe in mouth and outstretched arm, which he immediately put around her shoulder. They sat down near the stage and Jan beckoned me over. She said her name was Miriam from Queens and that she had played some of the coffee houses in Greenwich Village. She had that real thick New York accent. She said she arrived that morning and now was anxious to play. It was easy to see Jan’s total infatuation with her. I told her she could play after my set and I told her I was looking forward to hearing her play. When I got back over by the kitchen, Sam said, “Oh boy, here we go, the summers’ heart throb has arrived!” I said, “I better go get tuned up.” I couldn’t stop looking at her from the back room as I tuned the guitar. She had that Joan Baez look – but you could tell it wasn’t intentional. I decided to take step outside for some fresh air before going on stage. A full moon sky lit up the night and the breeze was somewhat cool. I heard a fraternity party going on off in the distance. Out of the shadows my friend Quinton appeared smoking a joint. He was studying to be a professor in English Lit and a very good writer. He and I worked on setting the Yeats’ poem – “Lake Isle of Innisfree” to music. He played guitar and piano as well. He asked me if I was ready to play that tonight and I told him that I had planned on it. We finished the “J” and went chuckling back into the Café. The glow in the room made me feel really good. The low conversation was soothing – Jan handed me a beer; we had some of that around always, and I went to get my guitar. Jan always made fun of me somewhat, in a good hearted way, when he introduced me. Tonight it was – “Please welcome our own itinerant wanna be folk singer to the stage..” 

About Bill Madison

Bill Madison – Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist My musical career spans more than 40 years; from the Folk Music venues of Boston, New York City and Montreal during the 1960’s, to the ski resorts and honky tonks of Northern New England from the 1970’s to the 1990’s. In 1973, I released my first album called “Sunday Mornin’ Hayride”. That album has been re-released by Riverman Records and Yoga Records and was voted in the top ten retro re-issues for 2009 by the Acid Archives. In 1974, I formed Them Fargo Brothers which became New England’s Premier Country Rock Band, and I toured with the band until 1990. I am currently writing and recording in my studio and marketing my CD’s through my web site and have downloads available across the web. I am also seeking to license my music to films, etc. And I am a Featured Artist on IMRadio.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

