Featured Artists and Road Trip!

For your entertainment, I want to share the Reverbnation links of a few of my fellow artists. 

Doug Dickens is a great songwriter and posts his Saturday night Showcase weekly on Facebook featuring artists on Reverbnation. A truly great service. 

https://www.facebook.com/events/339479352809389/permalink/471887396235250/

http://www.reverbnation.com/dougdickens

The Lost City Band – reminds me of my band Them Fargo Bros. ! Great music here!

http://www.reverbnation.com/lostcityband

And my friends from Australia the band “Stirling”!  I especially like their song “Illuminati Smile”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/stirlingmusic

And a man after my own heart – he does what I do – only different! Carl Grimes!

http://www.reverbnation.com/carlgrimes

OK – Just one more for today – but I’ll post more of these fine musicians as we go. Let’s see now – how about my friends from Spain – Geraldine Pointing and Interactive Murcia!   I really like “All The Way To Sunday”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/interactivemurcia

So now – another installment of Road Trip! The story is far from over and the trip actually just beginning! I have to write more for it!!  So back to the summer of 1966!

In Montreal at that time, there were these bars called The Tavern which were located on just about every other corner throughout the downtown area. And they were adjacent to these restaurants that served Chinese, Italian and American food all in one place. But in The Tavern, which is where we were headed, you could buy a 6oz. glass of beer for 10 cents – and that was the original LaBatte Blue with the Canadian alcohol content. So for 30 cents, you could get quite a buzz on! We entered the establishment and took a seat at the bar and ordered our 10 cent beers. I was looking around the room and to my surprise spotted a familiar face! No it can’t be, I said to myself. But sure enough, sitting on the opposite side of the bar was none other than Malcolm Klary – one of my fraternity brothers – who we called Mac! I yelled across the bar to him and he responded in shock and surprise to see me there. We then took a table and he joined us. He told us that he was on summer leave before beginning graduate school in the fall and wanted to see Montreal and do some traveling. He had driven to Montreal in a 1957 Plymouth 4 door sedan that was a graduation gift from his parents. He also said that he wanted to go to Toronto from here. Gif was the first to ask the question; “Would you object to fellow travelers riding along and help pay for the gas?” I hadn’t thought about leaving Montreal at all but I was soon convinced by the other three that that’s what we were going to do. A plan quickly formulated. We would play at the Café for another week or so to make some money before leaving, and Mac could stay with the rest of us at the room. As for Rory, he had quite a bit of money on him and no one wanted to inquire about how he came by it. At one point during the journey, he did say, after a few beers, that he was somewhat creative about acquiring cash, and that money was never a problem to him. We would actually see him in action down the road.

About Bill Madison

Bill Madison – Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist My musical career spans more than 40 years; from the Folk Music venues of Boston, New York City and Montreal during the 1960’s, to the ski resorts and honky tonks of Northern New England from the 1970’s to the 1990’s. In 1973, I released my first album called “Sunday Mornin’ Hayride”. That album has been re-released by Riverman Records and Yoga Records and was voted in the top ten retro re-issues for 2009 by the Acid Archives. In 1974, I formed Them Fargo Brothers which became New England’s Premier Country Rock Band, and I toured with the band until 1990. I am currently writing and recording in my studio and marketing my CD’s through my web site and have downloads available across the web. I am also seeking to license my music to films, etc. And I am a Featured Artist on IMRadio.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

