ElsieFest, MLW Benefit, some of my musician friends and the “Road Trip” Continues!!!

Hello and Hello Again!

In the middle of September, we visited New Hampshire to visit the kids and grandkids and also I played music there at ElsieFest – a gathering of old friends and musicians that I have played with over the years – hosted for the day by Elsie Limmer at her gorgeous home in Snowville. Here is a photo of me as I was performing there.

Photo by Nancy Madison

1-Bill @ Elsie's

 

The next day, I was proud to participate in the first annual MacKenzie, Lewis and White Benefit held at the Wolverine Tavern in North Conway. This benefit has gone on annually for many years to raise Scholarship money for students interested in studying music at Kennett High School in Conway. Our dear friend Rod MacKenzie passed away last year – a truly fine and inspiring musician he was – and now his name joins his friends and fellow musicians, Peter White and Peter Lewis to make this the 1st Annual!!! Those three guys “invaded” the Mount Washington Valley from Bermuda in the late 70’s with their wonderful music and they are remembered and honored every year at this event. I am fortunate enough to have a video of my performance, courtesy of Jeremy Dean, at this year’s Benefit Concert.  Here’s the link:

http://youtu.be/RwsQQA4uOqE

 

I would like to bring to your attention a few more musicians that I have met at Reverbnation and whom I enjoy very much!

First up – The Wailin Wolves Band! I just love the blues and these guys will rock you!

http://www.reverbnation.com/wailinwolvesbluesband

And from New Hampshire –  Preface – my son Ryan is the drummer and these guys have played together for over 15 years. When they play together, they “read” each other like a book! They are great fun to watch and listen to!  They play mostly original songs in their own style, but with a nice reggae feel! I like their tune called “Massage Your Brain”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/prefacenh

Wild & Welsh – a great Rock band from the UK! Listen to their tune called “Spirits”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/WILDandWELSH

And also from New Hampshire is Heather Pierson. She is a marvelously talented musician playing piano and guitar. She is also a  wonderful songwriter. Her style is magnetic and her songs are engaging. I am promoting her new album called “The Hard Work Of Living” I like her song “A Hard Man to Please”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/heatherpierson

And Brick Fields! Their down home blues is down right addictive! Love their “Go Ahead and Sang The Blues”!

http://www.reverbnation.com/BrickFieldsMusic

I’ll be posting more great music links in future entries – hope you enjoy these great musicians!

And now for another trip back in time as the “Road Trip” continues:

Montreal – Summer of 1966!

On The Road…

 

The dawning sun pierced though a gap in the window shade directly into my squinting eyes as I sprawled on the couch in the one room apartment we all shared. I was the only one in the room – along with all the debris from a “gathering” we had the night before. And meeting my nostrils was a pungent odor of a mixture of sweat, stale alcohol, tobacco, and urine. My head was just a few feet from the small water shed closet that housed the “john” and a small sink. I couldn’t have slept long at all – maybe an hour or so before the early sunlight reminded me that I was still alive.

 

The door crashed open loudly as Rory entered exclaiming loudly, “Hey – you coming with us or not! Grab your stuff – we’re leaving!”  I stumbled off the couch, visited the “water closet”,  jammed what few possessions I had into my duffle bag,  grabbed my guitar and quickly exited out to the sidewalk. The Plymouth sat at the curb at an idle with Mac behind the wheel.  Gif sat behind him playing one of his flamboyant instrumentals on his guitar.  Rory piled into the back seat next to him as I put my stuff in the trunk of the car, and joined Mac in the front seat. It was a pretty warm morning, so all the windows were open in the car.  Somehow, Rory had come up with a couple of thermos’ filled with coffee and a large paper bag filled with all manner of French pastries, passing one of the thermos up to the front.  Mac stepped on the gas, and off into the Montreal  traffic we went.  It seemed like Gif was inventing music to fit the mood and also the immediate surroundings;  as we passed the small cafes with patrons sitting at outdoor tables reading their papers and chatting among themselves.  We turned on to Rue de St Catherines, heading toward the Café Prague. We spotted Herman out in front sweeping the sidewalk and putting fresh table clothes on his few outside tables.  Mac pulled up to the curb and we stopped to say goodbye. Herman was so generous as to add some more to our food stores – two loaves of fresh bread and a tub of his famous cheese spread. We shared a somewhat emotional farewell and he told us that we and our music would be missed. We assured him that we would return, but unfortunately we never did.  I did return to Montreal several years later to play at McGill’s Yellow Door Coffeehouse and I went down to the Café,  but it was no longer there – it was still a small restaurant, but with a French name that I cannot recall.

 

Soon the city was fading in the background as we made our way. I found myself dosing with my head back feeling the breeze from the window on my face, Gif still making great tunes on his guitar. Mac said we would probably be in Toronto sometime the next day. Rory and I wanted to see what Ottawa had to offer – so onward sped the green Plymouth!

 

From a song I wrote back then called Silver Satin City – which I wrote for Montreal…

 

“The city’s screaming anguish seems to tell me,

That it’s streets can never give me room.

So I move away to find one that will be,

A temporary fantasy of home.”

 

About Bill Madison

Bill Madison – Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist My musical career spans more than 40 years; from the Folk Music venues of Boston, New York City and Montreal during the 1960’s, to the ski resorts and honky tonks of Northern New England from the 1970’s to the 1990’s. In 1973, I released my first album called “Sunday Mornin’ Hayride”. That album has been re-released by Riverman Records and Yoga Records and was voted in the top ten retro re-issues for 2009 by the Acid Archives. In 1974, I formed Them Fargo Brothers which became New England’s Premier Country Rock Band, and I toured with the band until 1990. I am currently writing and recording in my studio and marketing my CD’s through my web site and have downloads available across the web. I am also seeking to license my music to films, etc. And I am a Featured Artist on IMRadio.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ElsieFest, MLW Benefit, some of my musician friends and the “Road Trip” Continues!!!

  1. Jody Lawson says:

    Nice posting about ElsieFest, Bill!

    Ahhhh…. “Yellow Door” in Montreal. It was still happening around 2006. Bruce and Jen as “Crossing North” played there. Have a huge love for Canadian audiences as they are so responsive to the music they are hearing. Huge shout out to the “Side Door Cafe” and “Cafe Namaste”…. Great folks, great music, and great audiences.

    Nice that you could visit your kids and grandkids and that you and Nancy could be there to honor Rod Mackenzie at the same time. Bruce and I just had our 6 yr. old grand daughter, Lilly here for 6 days while her parents were out of town.

    Very best to you and Nancy always!

    Jody

Leave a Reply

